Young Matildas & U17s

Junior Matildas squad named for 2017 AFC U16 Championship

A 23 player squad has been named by Junior Matildas head coach Rae Dower for the 2017 AFC U16 Women’s Championships to be held in Thailand.

Following a series of training camps at the AIS Dower, who was appointed has head coach in July 2017, has selected a squad she is confident will be able to perform in Thailand.

“Over the past month we have trialled a good number of players and we believe that we have a balanced and competitive squad for the upcoming tournament,” Rae Dower

“During the camps we have been able to embed the style of play that we would like to execute in Thailand and next week we will have the opportunity to continue working on that before we fly out.”

Doubling as a qualifier for the FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup, Dower will be hoping to guide the Junior Matildas through a tough group at the Championships.

Australia has been drawn with former AFC champions Japan and DPR Korea with Bangladesh rounding out Group B.

The top two teams from the group phase will advance to the semi finals with the top 3 nations qualifying for the 2018 FIFA Women’s U-17 World Cup 2018 in Uruguay.

“Thanks must go to the coaches who have prepared these players over the years up  to this point and they are now ready for the step up to international football.”

“Players and staff are excited and proud to represent Australia at the Championship and are focused on the goal of qualifying for next year’s FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup,” concluded Dower.

The 23 player squad will have a final pre-tournament camp from 28 August – 1 September before departing for Thailand on 4 September 2017.

The Women’s Game will have full coverage of the tournament on Facebook and Twitter.

Junior Matildas Squad – AFC U-16 Women’s Championship 2017

Morgan AQUINO (GK) (Football West), Molly ARENS (Northern NSW), Kyra COONEY-CROSS (Football Federation Victoria), Abbey GREEN (Football West), Annalee GROVE (GK) (Northern NSW), Winonah HEATLEY (Football Queensland), Angelique HRISTODOULOU (Football NSW), Laura HUGHES (Capital Football), Cecilija MATIC (Capital Football), Jayme MILLARD (Football NSW), Alexia MORENO (Football West), Sarah MORGAN (Capital Football), Susan PHONSONGKHAM (Football NSW), Taylor RAY (Football NSW), Olivia RIDDEL (GK) (Capital Football), Indiah-Paige RILEY (Football Queensland), Karly ROESTBAKKEN (Capital Football), Alyssa ROSE (Football NSW), Sofia SAKALIS (Football Federation Victoria), Amy SAYER (Football NSW), Tessa TAMPLINV (Northern NSW), Tori TUMETH (Football NSW), Julia VIGNES (Football NSW)

Match Schedule

Japan v Australia
11 September 2017
Institute of Physical Education Stadium, Chonburi
Kick off: 10.00pm (AEST)

Australia v DPR Korea 
14 September 2017
Chonburi Stadium, Chonburi
Kick off: 10.00pm (AEST)

Australia v Bangladesh          
17 September 2017
Institute of Physical Education Stadium, Chonburi
Kick off: 9.00pm (AEST)



Australia’s no.1 source for women’s football